Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content



Gilan province lies along the Caspian Sea, just west of the province of Mazandaran,
east of the province of Ardabil, north of the provinces of Zanjan and Qazvin. The northern part of the province is part of territory of South (Iranian) Talysh. At the center of the province is the main city of Rasht. Other towns in the province include Astara, Astaneh-e-Ashrafiyyeh, Fuman, Lahijan, Langrud, Masouleh, Manjil, Rudbar,Roudsar, Shaft, Talesh, and Soumahe Sara.
Gilan province consists of 16 counties of Amlesh, Astaneh-e- Ashrafiyyeh, Astara, Bandar Anzali, Fuman, Lahijan, Langrud, Massal, Rasht, Rezvanshahr, Roodbar, Shaft, Siahkal, Soumahe Sara and Talesh.
Gilan ... (Read More)


The first recorded encounter between Gilak and Deylamite warlords and invading Muslim Arabarmies was in the battle of Jalula in 647 AD. Deylamite commander Muta led an army of Gils, , ... (Read More)
Gilan Today
The Safavid emperor, Shah Abbas I ended the rule of Kia Ahmad Khan, the last semi-independent ruler of Gilan, and annexed the province directly to his empire. From this point in history onward,... (Read More)

Road and Transportation: The Rasht International airport is the only airport in the small province of Gilan and was established in 1969 with an approximate area of 220 hectares. At first, the airport .... (Read More)